mal’s Weblog











{November 21, 2010}   Something stupid

I first heard this song (cover by Robbie Williams and Nicole Kidman) when I was really big in a stupid silly kind of way, on music. I must have been around 15, when it was a thrill for me to have accomplished practicing a few songs while mom and dad were not yet back from office, when i heard this song – how i happened to hear it was i had this cassette which i had bought for other songs, and this one played and it was a sweet melody and a duet. It instantly caught my attention and i kinda fell in love with it.

Why i am talking about it today is that yesterday, after like 9 years, i heard it again. Only, this time, it was the Sinatra version, which I think is the original, which is not the point here. Once again, it was an unexpected treat. Once again it was a cassette. And so the whole experience came full circle – in a way.

But why i’m blogging about it is cos something clicked yesterday, with this song. The person i was listening it with probably would not have sought out the song, especially if it was the robbie williams and nicole kidman cover, and this person too happened to hear this song and fall in love with it exactly like i did 9 years ago. So this person was quite pleased at this little treat and we kept struggling with the stereo to figure out which way is the rewind button and all. So i asked this person “acha hai na :)” and this person smiles brilliantly in the affirmative.

So this person asks what the lyrics are, cos this person probably wanted to sing along like i was singing along despite the fact that the memory was only half in place. Since i myself could not recall the lyrics unless the song was playing along, I go on to explain to this person what the story is about. But here’s the magic: hardly into the beginning of this explanation, i end up reflecting aloud on the song, and what i said was beautiful.

What i said was: the song is about something so simple and natural, and the fact that it’s a duet adds such meaning to it, especially because both the man and woman are saying all the words, which implies that both are saying the same thing. What is so unique about that, is  that both are following different tunes on the tune/music of the instrumental – which is probably a reflection of how men and women have different ways of saying the same thing in real life. That is, i had suddenly realized that the song went beyond a simple story about a stupid thing. It went way deep into how the couple is in love, how they experience the same thing, and how they want to and do say the same thing, but in different ways – just like they are singing the same thing, but in different tunes, in the song.

From there our discussion slightly went into how good musicians are different from those who are in it for the money alone, because i said that this is just something i reflected and realized, and this idea is intentional or unintentional – i do not know. But this realization about the depth (intentional or unintentional) of this song was something beautiful that i felt i just had to share.

The song: Something Stupid

Originally written by: C.Carson Parks

First recorded in 1966 by Parks and his wife Gail Foote, as Carson and Gaile. “It is best known in the hit version by Frank Sinatra and his daughter Nancy Sinatra.” (as per Wikipedia).

The lyrics:

I know I stand in line until you think you have the time to spend an evening with me
And if we go someplace to dance I know that there’s a chance you won’t be leaving with me
And afterwards we drop into a quiet little place And have a drink or two……
And then I go and spoil it all by saying something stupid like I love you

I can see it in your eyes that you despise the same old lines you heard the night before……
And though it’s just a line to you for me it’s true and never seemed so right before
I practice everyday to find some clever lines to say to make the meaning come true……
But then I think I’ll wait until the evening gets late and I’m alone with you
The time is right your perfume fills my head the stars get red and oh the night’s so blue……
And then I go and spoil it all by saying something stupid like I love you

Look it up on youtube, and fall in love 🙂

what say you?

et cetera
