mal’s Weblog











{September 23, 2010}   Amir Khan could have done a much better job with 3 Idiots.

Amir Khan could have done a much better job with 3 Idiots.

by Maliha Abidi on Saturday, January 23, 2010 at 8:59am

I say this because I do not feel that just because all of the main characters had the same issue (being pressurized into doing something they dint want to) they had to choose the same path (suicide). It would have been much better had one of them tried to run away, and another maybe tried to rebel staying right there.

Secondly, the bit where the drunk one starts making the sound of a starting motor in class, immensely resembles the part where the kid in Taare Zameen Par reads out dancing words. This could have been given a more original touch – I mean, I feel it sort of lost its charm because despite making me laugh, it did not prevent me from noticing immediately that something exactly like this had already been done by Amir Khan in the previous movie.

And by the way, who was the singer for “Jaane nahin, daingay tujhe…”?? This song could have had much more feel had the singer not given so much …”leher” (will update this if and when I come up with a better word) to it. I mean, I heard this song first on the radio, not knowing it belonged to this movie. And I honestly, without any bias that is, judged it to be a high-potential-low-performance song – it had amazing music but sort of repetitive lyrics that sounded kinda silly, not to mention the thing the singer was doing with his voice. I don’t care if it was Shaan or Sonu Nigam or whoever. I respect them. I’m just saying as a customer of this movie that that song…maza nai aya.

Fourthly, there was hardly any moment that really touched me. The one moment that I can recall top of the mind is when they discover through the flying camera, the guy who hung himself to death in his dorm room. Now that was something that was really moving. Other than that, pretty much everything was done already.

Now I’m not saying that every movie comes up with something not done before. And I also agree that the issue he chose was something we all should stand up for. However, I do feel that Amir Khan with his talent of presenting old concepts in new ways and lights (case in point: the thing about using a pencil in space – totally new touch to it), could have done a better job.

I can spend my life watching “Dil Chahta Hai” and “Rang De Basanti” over and over. Maybe even squeeze in “Taare Zameen Par” a few times. But 3 Idiots is not on my list of “All-Time Favourites”.

PS. I LOVE the zubie dubie song 😀
PSS. And Kareena’s DRESSING *drools*

what say you?

et cetera
